About the Good Samaritan Award

The Good Samaritan Award recognizes an individual who lives out the deep truth of the Parable of the Good Samaritan: love God and love your neighbor.  Honorees go above and beyond in a spirit of servant leadership to positively impact their neighbors and communities.

Bishop Everett Jones, the founder of the Good Samaritan Center in 1951, taught that your "neighbor" is anyone who needs you.  The Samaritan's mercy is a generous mercy, a mercy that does not just keep to the letter of the law, but its spirit as well.  The recipient of the Good Samaritan Award is an individual who is a shining example of the biblical Good Samaritan that makes all want to "go and do likewise."

For the inaugural award in 2014, Tom Frost was celebrated as a man of honor and integrity who has impacted the community in areas as diverse as medical research, the arts, business and education. The Good Samaritan Award in 2015 was presented to Max Navarro, a child of the Center and a man who has achieved recognition for innovation, leadership, integrity and trust worldwide.  In 2016, we were honored to celebrate The Rt. Rev. Gary Lillibridge as the honoree for his many years of service in the church, but also his tenure as Bishop of The Episcopal Diocese of West Texas.

In 2017, we celebrated The Rev. Cliff and Bebe Waller, who received The Good Samaritan Award on May 11th at The Whitley Theological Center at Oblate School of Theology.

Stay tuned to learn more about the 2018 Good Samaritan Award!

For more information, please call 210-424-2066 or email special.events@goodsamtx.org.